This is the "OCLS Remembers Maya Angelou" page of the "Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Events  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ocls.info/current Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
OCLS Remembers Maya Angelou Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books by Maya Angelou

Cover Art
The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou - Maya Angelou
Publication Date: 1994
For the first time, the complete collection of Maya Angelou's published poems-including "On the Pulse of Morning."

Cover Art
Mom and Me and Mom - Maya Angelou
Publication Date: 2013
The story of Maya Angelou's extraordinary life has been chronicled in her multiple bestselling autobiographies. But now, at last, the legendary author shares the deepest personal story of her life: her relationship with her mother.

Cover Art
More Books
Looking for more books by Maya Angelou? Click here to find them.

Cover Art
E-books
Do you prefer your books in electronic form? We have Maya Angelou E-books!

 

Maya Angelou (April 4, 1928- May 28, 2014)

Maya Angelou became an icon in American literature after the publication of her autobiographical work "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings."  Throughout her life she continued to write autobiographies, poetry, and plays.  In addition to her writing, Angelou was known for her contributions to the civil rights movement and for advocating women's rights.  Take a moment to explore the legacy that Maya Angelou has left by exploring some of the resources offered by the library.

Databases

  • Biography in Context  Icon  Icon
    Biography in Context has more than 600,000 biographies of notable people from yesterday to today. Get authoritative at-a-glance or in-depth information. Come face-to-face with your subject through video, audio clips, podcasts, images and other multimedia resources. This database includes tools to download, print and share content online; and citation help.
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon
    Looking for that one place to find out details about an author? Literature Resource Center provides online access to information on over 124,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Content includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of the authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.
 

Books About Maya Angelou

Cover Art
Critical Companion to Maya Angelou - Jacqueline S. Thursby
Publication Date: 2011
Critical Companion to Maya Angelou is a comprehensive and up-to-date resource for students interested in this great writer. Coverage includes A concise but thorough biography of Angelou Entries on all of Angelou's major works, including all six of her book-length autobiographies, her major poems and poetry collections, her major essays and essay collections, her children's books, and more. Entries on the autobiographical works contain subentries on the main figures in the work.

Cover Art
Maya Angelou, New Edition - Harold Bloom (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
A literature of black womens courage and experience is at the heart of Maya Angelous writing. She has been called a national institution and the peoples poet. It has been suggested that she has manifested an indomitable spirit and benign will in her most famous book, "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings." This addition to the Bloom's Modern Critical Views series is enhanced by a chronology, bibliography, notes on the contributors, and an introductory essay by noted literary scholar Harold Bloom.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip