Guides: Current Events: Flu Prevention and Facts

Websites

Use these websites to learn the facts about the flu and find some handy tips for preventing infection.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC tracks current outbreaks of disease, including influenza. Visit this page to learn about seasonal flu, vaccines, and new influenza alerts.
Florida Department of Health
Find local information relating to the flu including where to receive a flu shot, latest state statistics, and predominate strains.
Flu Vaccine Toolkit
Find more information on the Flu vaccine with these resources from The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
World Health Organization
Find information about seasonal flu strains, vaccines, and other FAQs on the WHO website.

Library Databases

Use these health databases to find articles and fact sheets about the Flu.

Gale: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This resource includes recent news articles, fact sheets, and more. Material from this database is intended for informational purposes only, and you are encouraged to consult with your own physician to discuss any course of treatment presented or suggested here.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find reliable scholarly articles the Flu with this database. Material from this database is intended for informational purposes only, and you are encouraged to consult with your own physician to discuss any course of treatment presented or suggested here.

Flu Prevention

OCLS is here to keep you informed about the flu. Learn all the facts about what you can do to stay healthy and how you can recover if you do get sick. Stay on top of the news with these current event websites and library resources.

One of the most important things you can do to keep the Flu away is wash your hands frequently and properly. Watch this short video to find out how!

Books

Learn about flu prevention, treatment, and history with these helpful books.

Influenza by Donald Emmeluth
Call Number: 616.203 EMM
Although influenza, commonly known as the flu, is a familiar disease to many people, its effects can be deadly. Influenza, Second Edition examines symptoms and complications of the disease, as well as treatment, prevention, and the need for flu vaccines.
The Germ Freak's Guide to Outwitting Colds and Flu by Allison Janse; Charles Gerba (As told to)
Call Number: 616.205 JAN
In the bestselling tradition of the The Paranoid's Pocket Guide and The Worst Case Scenario Handbook, Allison Janse--a committed Germ Freak--gives readers the lowdown on how to avoid the common cold and survive flu season with your health and sanity intact.
The Flu and Pneumonia Update by Alvin Silverstein; Laura Silverstein Nunn; Virginia Silverstein
Call Number: 616.203 SIL
Alvin and Virginia Silverstein and Laura Silverstein Nunn clearly explain the symptoms of flu and pneumonia. Read all about the history of these diseases, from the flu epidemic of 1918 to current research on vaccines.

Current Events

Websites

Library Databases

Flu Prevention

Books

Reference Librarian

Connect with OCLS!

Chat With Staff!

Health Alerts on Twitter