Guides: Consumer Health: Online &amp; Community Resources

General Health

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service provided by the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library. Information in this resource is free, easy to understand, and provided in multiple languages.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides up-to-date news and information on numerous diseases and conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, infectious disease outbreaks, and more.
CDC Healthy Living
This collection of health resources from the CDC provides information on a wide variety of topics, including for different life stages and specific populations.
Federal and State Nursing Home & Assisted Living Regulations
This guide explores the federal and state regulations in place for assisted living and nursing homes, especially regarding cost, health and safety. It also discusses enforcement and how to get data on how closely a facility follows regulations.
Florida Department of Health: Minority Health and Health Equity
The Office of Minority Health is committed to promoting culturally and linguistically appropriate services that will ensure the needs of minority communities are integrated and addressed within health-related programs across the state of Florida.
Florida Department of Health: Refugee Health Services
The goal of the Refugee Health Program is to be a leader in providing culturally sensitive health services to persons who have fled their home country due to persecution (political, religious, or economic) in search for a better life and self-sufficiency in the U.S.
Health Information from the National Institutes of Health
Research news and health information on wellness and lifestyle topics as well as information on all of the Institutes of Health.
Health Information Translations
Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.
Indian Health Services
Provides federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. Includes information for patients, community health, and locations throughout the country.
KidsHealth
This resource provides information from the non-profit children's health system, Nemours. There are resources for parents, kids, and teens with specific topics and questions in mind for each age group.
Minority Health (CDC)
Resources for health equity, including a blog, newsletter, and related information.
My Health eVet: Veterans Health Library
Veterans health library from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
National Institute on Aging
Offers information about the science of healthy aging, and Alzheimer’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (AD/ADRD).
Talking to Your Doctor
Provides information and tips for making the most of your doctor visit, including a three part video series.

Top Florida Health Issues

According to the Florida Department of Health, where you can find Selected Causes of Death in every county in the state, these were the top five health related causes of death in Orange County in 2021*:

Please click on the condition to learn more.

*Most recent year for complete information.

Consumer Health

General Health

Top Florida Health Issues

Reference Librarian

Find a Healthcare Provider

Medication

Orange County Resources

Disclaimer