Guides: Re-Entry Resources: Health Resources

Mental Health

Aspire
Community services in Orange County are provided by Aspire Health Partners, the designated community provider of public behavioral health and substance abuse services.
Finding a Mental Health Professional
Finding a mental health specialist can sometimes be confusing and challenging. This guide breaks the process down into manageable steps.
Free/Reduced Clinics for Mental Health
Find a free or reduced cost clinic in the Orlando area using this list from the National Alliance of Mental Illness of Greater Orlando.
Mental Health for Everyone Resource Guide
Find professional help and use library resources to research a wide spectrum of mental health issues.
National Alliance of Mental Illness (Greater Orlando)
NAMI of Greater Orlando provides connections to local services, support networks, and information related to mental health.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. Their website features comprehensive information on a range of mental health disorders and topics.
Orange County Mental Health Services
Find mental health services partnered with the Orange County Government here.

Consumer Health Resource Guide
Health information can be confusing. This guide provides accessible resources to help you understand and better manage your health.

Gale: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale: Health & Wellness is a comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. Use this resource to find information about diabetes, cancer, obesity and depression, among other conditions. Also search within current topics in the news, drug and herbal remedies, health directories, and health highlights.

Material from this database is intended for informational purposes only, and you are encouraged to consult with your own physician to discuss any course of treatment presented or suggested here.

Local Healthcare Services
Find the health care that you need with this list of Orange County Services from Right Service at the Right Time.
Medicine Assistance Tool
If you need help to afford medication, you can use the Medicine Assistance Tool to search for financial assistance that you may be eligible for.
Primary Access Care Network (PCAN)
PCAN is a collaborative network among Orange County Government, primary health care centers, community agencies, hospitals and other social services, working to provide healthcare access to to the underinsured and uninsured in Orange County.

Addiction Services in Orlando
There are a number of local and national substance abuse recovery services available. You can find a list of some of them using the above link.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
The SAMHSA includes treatment center directories, confidential support hotlines, information, and more.
Substance Abuse Resource Guide
This resource guide includes links to local organizations and meetups that help those struggling with substance abuse.

Health Coverage for Incarcerated People
Learn how to enroll in Medicaid coverage if you have recently been incarcerated with this guide from Healthcare.gov.
Health Insurance (MedlinePlus)
Learn the basics of what health insurance is as well as find resources for more in-depth research on types of insurance, journal articles, and how to find an expert.
Healthcare.gov
Explains some of the basic coverage of most insurance plans and provides a list of things to consider as well as some questions to ask your doctor when considering what health insurance plan might be best for you.