Guides: Special Collections of the Orange County Library: The Disney Collection

Disney Books

A sample of the books in the Disney Collection:

Poster Art of the Disney Parks by Danny Handke; Vanessa Hunt; Tony Baxter (Introduction by)
Call Number: Disney 741.67 Han
Publication Date: 2012
Disney attraction posters have been an important means of communication since Disneyland began displaying them in 1956. Not only are they eye-catching pieces of artwork that adorn the Parks with flair and style, they are also displayed to build visitors' excitement and disseminate information about the newest additions to the Disney landscape. This lush book contains concept art and posters from Disney parks around the world, from Tokyo to Paris to the US, and provides a lively narrative to guide viewers through the evolution of Disney's poster art.
The Disney Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; John Lasseter (Foreword by); Jim Fanning
Call Number: Disney 384.3 Dis
ISBN: 1465437878
Publication Date: 2015
Celebrate movie history and the world of Disney, from the animations and live action movies to the magical Disney parks and attractions, with The Disney Book.
The Art of Mulan by Jeff Kurtti
Call Number: Disney 791.4372 MULAN
Publication Date: 1998
In the tradition of the bestselling fine-art companions to Disney Films, this elegant work contains all the beautiful art and insider details from Disney's boldest and most breathtaking feature to date. Includes conceptual material, sketches, layout drawings and storyboards, and extraordinary reproductions of the film's stunning final art - a painstaking invocation of the haunting beauty of ancient China and the grandeur of the Imperial City. Large format, four-colour illustrations throughout.
Remembering Walt by Amy Boothe; Howard E. Green; Ray Bradbury; Annette Funicello (Afterword by)
Call Number: Disney B Disney
Publication Date: 1999
In this collection of remembrances, more than one hundred people recall the ways their lives were touched by this complex, remarkable man: animators who trained under him; directors inspired by his vision; actors who sought him out for advice and support; and family members who knew him best of all.
Good Girls and Wicked Witches by Amy M. Davis
Call Number: Disney 305.4 Dav
Publication Date: 2006
In Good Girls and Wicked Witches, Amy M. Davis re-examines the notion that Disney heroines are rewarded for passivity. Davis proceeds from the assumption that, in their representations of femininity, Disney films both reflected and helped shape the attitudes of the wider society, both at the time of their first release and subsequently.
A Mickey Mouse Reader by Garry Apgar (Editor)
Call Number: Disney 791.4375 Mic
Publication Date: 2014
Ranging from the playful, to the fact-filled, and to the thoughtful, this collection tracks the fortunes of Walt Disney's flagship character.
Ink & Paint by Mindy Johnson
Publication Date: 2017
In this glossy volume, featuring never-before-seen photos, artwork, and detailed accounts, the process, techniques, and contributions of the women - and men - who defined the Walt Disney Studio's legendary Ink & Paint Department over the years are carefully explored, preserved, and shared for future generations.

Disney Vertical Files

The Disney Vertical files contain unbound items sent to us by the archivist for the Walt Disney Company. Below is a sample of the items you can find in this extensive collection:

WDW Clippings 1971-2015

These clippings make up the bulk of the Disney Collection and include articles published by major news sources, internal Disney documents, and various other Ephemera about the parks.

WDW Eyes & Ears 1973-2015

Eyes and Ears is the internal newsletter for Walt Disney World's cast members (a.ka. employees).

Disney News 1973-1900

The Magic Kingdom Club members magazine .

Disneyland Line 1971-2015

Disneyland cast member newsletter has content similar to Eyes & Ears about the west coast parks.