Each time a girl opens a book and reads a womanless history,
she learns she is worth less.
– Myra Pollack Sadker
Books on Women's History
From ancient times to the present, there have been countless women who helped shape our world. These titles explore some of their lives, struggles, and triumphs.
DVDs on Women in History
Order these DVDs and discover the impact women had on our history. From soldiers, early women's rights activists, and First Ladies, to Sacajawea and today's politicians, there's something here to interest everyone.
Women's History in Florida
You'll learn some interesting facts about what life was like in the past for Florida women, and the effect they had on United States History.
Women's Rights Today
Here are some of the newest non-fiction titles that deal with the status of women in today's world. Resources include women's rights and social conditions in the 21st century, as well as a few from the past.
- Biography in Context
This easy to use resource provides biographies of thousands of women. If you aren't sure who you want to research, use the handy listing of Notable Women located on the people page of the database.
- General OneFile
A treasure trove of news and periodical articles to find out what women are doing today. Audio files, book reviews, images, and broadcast transcripts are also included in this all-inclusive database.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Research social issues related to women. The full-text articles feature both the pros and cons of each issue, and offer a wide variety of resources including images, podcasts, and recommended websites.
- Pop Culture
Explore the ways in which women have made their mark on popular culture. Made up of more than 100 full-text periodicals, this collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.
- Science Online - Includes Science Experiments
Discover the important contributions women have made to the world of science in this easy to use database. To access a handy list of women prominent in the field, visit the Browse Biographies section, and then choose the Women in Science icon.